Because it was Built 216 years ago by soldiers. One of the first roads
in the country planned for military purposes by the Federal Government
Military Road, The long Arching Line From Lewiston to Black Rock |
Military Road was laid out originally by United States soldiers, under the direction of General James Wilkinson, who was called upon by Alexander Hamilton, then inspector-general of the army, to make recommendations for the protection of the frontiers along the Great Lakes. Writing to Hamilton, on February 12, 1799, General Wilkinson thus referred to the need of a roadway between Lakes Ontario and Erie. "The want of a road within our own limits, and a place, of deposit near Lake Erie, obliges us to carry our stores and merchandise, public and private, through the British dominions from Newark to Chippewa Creek by land, and from the last place to Fort Erie, in bateaux, which involves much delay and expense, and 'exposes our citizens to undue constraints and, impositions." The Military Highway would replace the old Portage Road which followed too closely the winding course of the Niagara River.
General Wilkinson arrived upon the Niagara Frontier in May 1801, with a commission to open the much needed roadway. His headquarters were at Black Rock, with a corps of surveyors and soldiers for laborers. In locating the new road he had the valued help of Joseph Ellicott, surveyor and agent of the Holland Land Co. Major M. Porter and soldiers from Fort Niagara opened the road during 1801 and 1802 from the fort to the brow of the ridge at Lewiston, and from there to a mile west of Tonawanda Creek the timber was cut down, but not removed. Bridges were built across the Tonawanda and Cayuga creeks. In 1809 the state appropriated $1,500 for improvement of the road, this amount to be collected from purchasers of land upon the "Mile Strip," which ran the length of the Niagara River. A passable wagon road was made from Black Rock to Niagara Falls.
Jerry M. Malloy - Buffalo History Gazette